Skip to main content
Hamilton Public Library

2019 Winners

8th Annual Friends of the Library Bookmark Contest Signing Ceremony

2019 Public Library Bookmark Contest Winners representing K-5th grades

Back Row: Emily Bays, Milagros Moncada, Cayce Fletcher, Amanda Sims, Ryder Coker, Carson Roberts, Colter Johnson, Evangeline Dabbs, Patricia Keoghan (Hamilton ISD art teacher)

Front Row: Kingston Wright, Annabelle Dabbs, Lillian Fletcher, Aria Janece Fry, Jonathan Najera, Marley Boatwright, Cord Black

Winners not in attendance:  Jackson Thompson-Carter, Carolina De La Garza, Leah Diaz.

The Friends of the Library, in conjunction with Hamilton Public Library, held its 8th annual bookmark contest signing ceremony April 23.

The theme for this year was "A Universe of Stories." Patricia Keoghan, Hamilton Independent School District art teacher, employed the library's Summer 2019 Reading Program theme to inspire her art students for this year's project. This is eighth year the Library has partnered with Mrs. Keoghan.

After receiving many colorful and artistic entries from the children of Hamilton in March, winners were selected. The award-winning students received certificates, age-appropriate books and gel pens and enjoyed a  lively reception with family and friends.

Several FOL members played key roles in the event. Melva Curry chaired the bookmark judging, as well as, the award ceremony with Renee French serving as library liaison.  Library Director, Nancy Diaz, presented the awards while Tom Adams snapped photos of the winners.

The autographed winning bookmarks are now available for purchase at the library. Proceeds from the sale of these bookmarks, generously reproduced by Keith Gatewood at Hamilton Printing, go to the support of the library.

We invite everyone to visit HPL where you can view the contest entries and purchase the winning bookmarks for 50 cents apiece.

And while you're at it - check out a good book!Manage portlets